The Twelve Days of Chronic Illness Christmas

Christmas time in my family centers around taking time away from life’s usual routines to spend time together, eat and exchange a few gifts. While my relationship with the holiday season is complicated, the one saving grace is getting a nice, relaxing day to enjoy the family without the usual hustle and bustle of the world pulling us in different directions.

Christmas reminds me of a time, too far gone away to touch but the whispers of nostalgic memories of the past serve to warm my soul every year when my holiday depression threatens to freeze me to death. As a child, many of my family’s holiday gatherings included performances. We did skits, songs, and stories with each family member contributing their talents to a night of fun and belly clutching laughter. These are some of my happiest memories.

As life goes, times changed. There aren’t as many get-togethers and key players are missing but the memories continue on reminding me of a time less inundated with the struggles of chronic illness life. In the happy memories of the Christmases past, I was inspired to write a parody of The Twelve Days of Christmas, chronic illness style!!!

What is our struggle worth if we cannot laugh together about it every now and again? Please enjoy my rendition of this holiday favorite and may you have a restorative holiday season filled with tons of extra spoons along the whole holly jolly way!

🥄🥄🥄🥄🥄🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄🥄🥄🥄🥄🥄🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄🥄🥄🥄🥄🥄🎄🎄🎄🎄🎄🥄🥄🥄🥄🥄

12-days-of-chronic-illness-christmas
The Twelve Days of Chronic Illness Christmas | Only in this Head: Chronic Illness Life with Elhers-Danlos Syndrome | http://www.OnlyinthisHead.com [Image Description: High-resolution image from pexels.com. White with light shadows in the background. In the upper right-hand corner is a couple branches of mistletoe on an evergreen. The blog title and wedsite name overlay the photograph.]

On the first day of Chronic Illness Christmas, my sickness brought to me:

A rare genetic illness off my family tree.

On the second day of Chronic Illness Christmas, my sickness brought to me:

Two Scopes for the price of one.

And a rare genetic illness off my family tree.

On the third day of Chronic Illness Christmas, my sickness brought to me:

Three out of town consults.

Two Scopes for the price of one

And a rare genetic illness off my family tree.

On the fourth day of Chronic Illness Christmas, my sickness brought to me:

Four Resturants without disability access

Three out of town consults.

Two Scopes for the price of one.

And a rare genetic illness off my family tree.

On the fifth day of chronic illness Christmas, my sickness brought to me:

Five Golden Spoons!

Four Resturants without disability access

Three out of town consults.

Two Scopes for the price of one

And a rare genetic illness off my family tree.

On the 6th day of Chronic Illness Christmas, my sickness brought to me:

Six doctors, a-doctoring

Five Golden Spoons!

Four Resturants without disability access

Three out of town consults.

Two Scopes for the price of one

And a rare genetic illness off my family tree.

On the seventh day of Chronic Illness Christmas, my sickness brought to me:

Seven symptom clusters, a-flaring!

Six doctors, a-doctoring

Five Golden Spoons!

Four Resturants without disability access

Three out of town consults.

Two Scopes for the price of one

And a rare genetic illness off my family tree.

On the eighth day of Chronic Illness Christmas, my sickness brought to me:

Eight strangers, a-recommending

Seven symptom clusters, a-flaring!

Six doctors, a-doctoring

Five Golden Spoons!

Four Resturants without disability access

Three out of town consults.

Two Scopes for the price of one

And a rare genetic illness off my family tree.

On the ninth day of Chronic Illness Christmas, my sickness brought to me:

Nine “friends,” a-disappearing

Eight strangers, a-recommending

Seven symptom clusters, a-flaring!

Six doctors, a-doctoring

Five Golden Spoons!

Four Resturants without disability access

Three out of town consults.

Two Scopes for the price of one

And a rare genetic illness off my family tree.

On the tenth day of Chronic Illness Christmas, my sickness brought to me:

Ten holiday invites I’m avoiding

Nine “friends,” a-disappearing

Eight strangers, a-recommending

Seven symptom clusters, a-flaring!

Six doctors, a-doctoring

Five Golden Spoons!

Four Resturants without disability access

Three out of town consults.

Two Scopes for the price of one

And a rare genetic illness off my family tree.

On the eleventh day of Chronic Illness Christmas, my sickness brought to me:

Eleven prescriptions, a-medicating

Ten holiday invites I’m avoiding

Nine “friends,” a-disappearing

Eight strangers, a-recommending

Seven symptom clusters, a-flaring!

Six doctors, a-doctoring

Five Golden Spoons!

Four Resturants without disability access

Three out of town consults.

Two Scopes for the price of one

And a rare genetic illness off my family tree.

On the twelfth day of Chronic Illness Christmas, my sickness brought to me:

Twelve hours of Netflix, a-streaming.

Eleven prescriptions, a-medicating

Ten holiday invites I’m avoiding

Nine “friends,” a-disappearing

Eight strangers, a-recommending

Seven symptom clusters, a-flaring!

Six doctors, a-doctoring

Five Golden Spoons!

Four Resturants without disability access

Three out of town consults.

Two Scopes for the price of one

And a rare genetic illness off my family tree.


Happy Holidays

from

Only in this Head:

Chronic Illness Life with Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome!

Are you new to Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome? Well, if you are then I am here to help.As I chronicle my journey through diagnosis and management of Vascular Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, POTS and several associated cohort issues my hope is through telling my story other Zebras might find their way to diagnosis also. Remember, these posts are for informational purposes and are not intended to substitute medical advice, diagnosis or management.

Please subscribe here for updates to Only in this Head: Chronic Illness Life with Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome and if you want to follow my art journey over at Stomach-vs-heart: The Art of Survivalclick here to subscribe. Click on the picture below to check out my chronic product review series! As always, many blessings and pure love❤

Click here to read more from Only in This Head's Chronic Product Review Series
Product to Improve the Quality of Chronic Illness Life | Only in this Head: Chronic Illness Life with Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome | Chronic Product Review Series | [Image Description: High res image of a female sleeping on a couch in front of a large window. The Blog Title and Series Title overlay the Photo]

Interact With Me!

